Meet our team

More than 300 members form our international network of former scholarship holders and friends of Alpbach. Next to our board of experienced Alpbach scholarship holders, we are continuously accepting new members to our team. This is how we keep up a spirit of innovation and excitement while guaranteeing continuity and passing on our acquired experience.

To find out more about our previous Board Members, who made our history and helped us get where we stand today, check out our dedicated page!

Corina Schmiedt

Corina Schmiedt


Studied management in Carinthia, and currently working as a sales and business development manager in a medical company. Keen to contribute to a positive interregional development in the Alpine-Adriatic Region.

"You cannot fail if you never stop trying."

Denise Wornig

Denise Wornig

Vice President Carinthia

Curious mind with a long-standing experience in EU Policy and NGOs. Social scientist by heart and serial collector of diplomas. World traveller with a penchant for Alpe Adria Region.

"Don’t think about making women fit the world‬—‪think about making the world fit women."‬ Gloria Steinem

Jadran Vecchiet

Jadran Vecchiet

Vice President Italy

Hailing from Trieste, attended school in Klagenfurt, studied Political science in Vienna and International development in Bologna. Politics nerd, specialized mainly in the politics and history of Latin America, but totally not as boring as this description implies.

"Embodiment of the Alpe-Adria spirit" (many people, allegedly)

Peter Suhodolčan

Peter Suhodolčan

Vice President Slovenia

Studies International Relations. Currently doing a Master’s in Business and Organisation in Ljubljana. A guy with a hearty laugh who loves books and museums.

"Whenever a government feels the need of promising peace and prosperity to its citizens by means of a proclamation, it is time to be on guard and expect the opposite." - I. Andrić

Welcome! This is our dedicated Team. Did we say that we would love to work with you? Don’t be shy and get in touch!

Martina Furlan

Martina Furlan

Secretary General

Originally from Trieste, studies International relations in Ljubljana. Passionate about world politics, environment and human rights. Slovenian by appearance, Italian by punctuality, committed European by soul.

"On the surface, an intelligible lie; underneath, the unintelligible truth" - M. Kundera, The Unbearable Lightness

Andreas Schnitzer

Andreas Schnitzer


International business graduate originally from Carinthia, with a focus on strategy, innovation and entrepreneurship. Loves history, politics, travelling, classical music and cares about the healthcare sector and unified as well as solidary Europe.

"Waste no more time arguing about what a good man should be. Be one." - M. Aurelius

Anja Rautnig

Anja Rautnig

Events and PR Manager

Life-enthusiast, best described by three words: Let’s do it! The sustainability wheel is set into motion and having studied organic farming, eco design and renewable energies, I’m rolling with it, hoping it’s gonna catch as much speed as I do when kitesurfing in stormy winds.

“Fear killed more dreams than failure ever will.”

Karoline Rettenbacher

Karoline Rettenbacher

Communications Officer

Description of Karoline

Nastassja Mikl

Nastassja Mikl

Scholarships Coordinator

A bohemian soul from Villach and Berlin living in Vienna who would move to Australia in a heartbeat. An eternal optimist who, if not obsessing about traveling or American literature, is a student of linguistics/teacher and may correct your grammar.

"Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world." -N. Mandela

The board is supported by our active members, that are helping us on various tasks. And we are grateful to every and each of them!


  • Peter Peršolja
  • Maximilian Peter


  • Vesna Kuralt
  • Stefanie Lutschounig
  • Lukas Schabus


  • Bernd Graf


  • Corina Schmiedt
  • Jadran Vecchiet
  • Peter Suhodolčan


Our website is powered by sinteco.
Content and layout by the Comms team.

  • Magnus Offermanns
  • Mark-Philipp Wolfger


  • Vesna Kuralt
  • Jacopo Munaretto
  • Paolo Recaldini
  • Peter Peršolja
  • Alina Lindermuth
  • Konrad Planneger
  • Christina Manuela Sabitzer
  • Martin Smoliner